MANAGER-SELECTION

We are convinced that achieving value added for institutional investors through active management is possible in almost all relevant asset classes. In particular in the current environment of low interest rates and uncertain risk premiums, „alpha“ can make a valuable contribution to the sustainable achievement of an investor’s objectives. Nevertheless, only the most capable among active managers can reliably deliver a consistent outperformance after costs. Therefore, a sophisticated manager selection process is indispensable.

With our systematic and proven selection process we have been identifying the best asset management companies for the actively managed mandates of our clients since 1998. Our selection process is based on the most recent research findings and is grounded in our experience from more than 300 selected mandates. We apply a scoring methodology which takes quantitative as well as qualitative criteria into account.

Our selection process starts with a clearly defined profile of the mandate, which we develop in close collaboration with our clients according to their individual needs. Based on this profile, we then screen our web-based alphaport®-database to gain a comprehensive market overview and subsequently form a long list of candidates, which we then narrow down to the final beauty contest candidates.

An experienced and motivated team of consultants supports our clients. Our mission is based on the philosophy that the success of our clients is the measure of our own success!

CONTACT PERSON

MANDATE MONITORING

Every selected mandate is actively supervised after inception in order to ensure a continuous alpha generation. We monitor periodically whether the initially identified factors of success are still valid and recommend a change of the selected asset manager if required.

Our goals are aligned with those of our clients since the remuneration for this service is purely performance-based. Consequently, we only receive a fee if the selected manager achieves a value added above the manager specific benchmark after costs.

MANDATE PROFILES

We offer manager selection services for the following profiles of mandates:

Benchmarked mandates in the equity segment (e.g. Asian Equities, European Equities, Global Small Cap Equities) and in the fixed income segment (e.g. Euro Corporate Bonds, Emerging Market Debt, U.S. Municipal Bonds, Global High Yield Bonds) are geared towards the sustainable generation of added value (“alpha”). As a relative benchmark we typically specify a representative market index in collaboration with our clients.

Absolute return mandates should yield a positive return over time independent of the market environment. Our absolute return selection processes are customized to the risk guidelines, individual preferences and restrictions of our clients. Often our clients also prefer a certain strategy type (e.g. Equity Market Neutral, Merger Arbitrage, Global Macro). Typically the benchmark for these mandates is the money market interest rate complemented by a fixed markup.

MICHAEL BILLMANN

Partner

Michael is a managing director and partner at alpha portfolio advisors GmbH. Michael’s primary focus is manager selection. He joined the company in 2005.

Michael studied business administration with a concentration in finance at the University of Münster. He is the author of several articles on the subject of absolute return and manager selection that have been published in various specialist handbooks and journals.v

billmann@alphaport.de

DR. JOCHEN KLEEBERG

Partner

Jochen is a managing director of alpha portfolio advisors GmbH overseeing it’s asset allocation and manager selection services. Before founding alpha portfolio advisors in 1998, Jochen managed the German branch of the consulting firm Barra International where he began his career in 1991. In 1994 he earned a doctorate at the University of Münster under Prof. Dr. Manfred Steiner with a doctoral thesis entitled “The Investment Success of the Minimum Variance Portfolio.” His thesis was awarded first prize for academic excellence conferred by the Deutsches Aktieninstitut (German Equities Institute).

Jochen is the co-editor of the handbooks entitled “Hedge Funds”, “Asset Allocation,” “Portfolio Management” and “Spezialfonds” as well as the author of numerous articles on the subject of asset management.

kleeberg@alphaport.de

FLORIAN HERTLEIN

Partner

Florian is a managing director and partner at alpha portfolio advisors GmbH. He is specialized on manager selection. Florian joined the company in 2006.

Florian studied business administration at Anspach University of Applied Sciences with concentration in finance, banking and investment management. Concurrent to his studies, he worked at the RaiffeisenVolksbank eG Gewerbebank Ansbach and completed a vocational training in banking.

Florian is the author of several articles on the subject of absolute return and manager selection that have been published in various specialist handbooks and journals.

hertlein@alphaport.de

  • COMPANY
  • ASSET ALLOCATION
  • MANAGER SELECTION
  • MANAGER DATABASE

TOP

MANAGER-SELECTION

Wir sind überzeugt, dass aktives Management in fast allen der für institutionelle Anleger relevanten Assetklassen einen deutlichen Mehrwert erwirtschaften kann. Gerade in einem Umfeld niedriger Zinsen und unsicherer Risikoprämien liefern diese marktunabhängigen Zusatzerträge („alpha“) einen wertvollen Beitrag zum nachhaltigen Erreichen der Anlageziele, jedoch können nur die Leistungsfähigsten unter den aktiven Managern zuverlässig ein alpha nach Kosten erzielen. Ein sophistizierter Selektionsprozess ist daher unumgänglich.

Wir identifizieren die besten Asset Management Gesellschaften für die aktiven Mandate unserer Kunden auf Basis unseres systematischen und seit 1998 bewährten Selektionsprozesses. In unseren Auswahlprozess fließen stets neueste wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse und unsere Erfahrung aus über 300 Auswahlverfahren ein. Wir verwenden dabei ein Bewertungsverfahren (Scoring), welches sowohl quantitative als auch qualitative Kriterien evaluiert.

Ausgangspunkt jedes Auswahlverfahrens ist das klar definierte Mandatsprofil, welches wir gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden gemäß der individuellen Anforderungen erarbeiten. Ausgehend von diesem Profil führen die Schritte vom umfassenden Marktüberblick auf Basis unserer alphaport® Manager-Datenbank über die Ableitung der Long und Short List bis hin zum Beauty Contest.

Wir stellen unseren Kunden ein überaus versiertes und motiviertes Beraterteam zur Seite, das alles Mögliche für den Erfolg des Mandates unternimmt, denn der Erfolg unserer Kunden ist die Messlatte für unseren eigenen Erfolg!

ANSPRECHPARTNER

MANDATSBEGLEITUNG

Jedes vergebene Mandat wird von uns nach der Auflage weiterhin aktiv begleitet, um die angestrebte Mehrwerterzielung kontinuierlich zu gewährleisten. Wir kontrollieren dabei in regelmäßigen Abständen, ob die zu Beginn der Mandatierung identifizierten Erfolgsfaktoren noch immer gegeben sind und empfehlen gegebenenfalls den Wechsel zu einem anderen Asset Manager.

Wir haben die gleichen Ziele wie unsere Kunden, da unsere Leistung rein erfolgsabhängig vergütet wird. Wir erhalten nur dann ein Honorar, wenn der selektierte Manager für unseren Kunden tatsächlich einen Mehrwert nach Kosten erzielt.

TYPISCHE MANDATSPROFILE

Wir bieten unsere Leistungen im Rahmen der Manager Selection für folgende Mandatsprofile an:

Benchmarkbezogene Mandate im Aktienbereich (z.B. Aktien Asien, Aktien Europa, Aktien Global Small Caps) und im Rentenbereich (z.B. Euro Corporate Bonds, Emerging Market Debt, U.S. Municipal Bonds, Global High Yield Bonds) sind auf die verlässliche Erzielung von Zusatzerträgen („alpha“) ausgerichtet. Als relativer Bezugspunkt für den durch aktives Management generierten Wert wird dabei typischerweise ein repräsentativer Marktindex gemeinsam mit dem Kunden spezifiziert.

Absolute Return Mandate sollen einen marktunabhängigen positiven Ertrag im Zeitablauf liefern. Ein entsprechendes Auswahlverfahren ist auf die Risikovorgaben, die Präferenzen und etwaige Restriktionen des Kunden zugeschnitten. Häufig definiert der Kunde dabei auch die gewünschte Stilrichtung, welche die zu selektierende Absolute Return Strategie verfolgen soll (z.B. Equity Market Neutral, Merger Arbitrage, Global Macro). Hierbei ist die Benchmark in der Regel ein Geldmarkt-Zinssatz ergänzt um einen festen Renditezuschlag.

MICHAEL BILLMANN

Partner

Michael Billmann war ab 2005 zunächst Consultant und seit 2008 Senior Consultant bei der alpha portfolio advisors GmbH und ist seit 1.1.2016 deren Geschäftsführer und Partner.

Zuvor studierte er Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Münster mit den Schwerpunkten Finanzierung und Unternehmensgründung. Herr Billmann ist Mitverfasser verschiedener Fachaufsätze zu den Themen Absolute Return und Managerauswahl, die in Fachbüchern und Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht wurden.

billmann@alphaport.de

DR. JOCHEN KLEEBERG

Partner

Dr. Jochen Kleeberg widmet sich seit mehr als 25 Jahren mit großer Leidenschaft den Kernfragen des aktiven Portfoliomanagements. Seit der Gründung der alpha portfolio advisors GmbH im Jahre 1998 ist er deren geschäftsführender Gesellschafter.

Bis Ende 1996 leitete er die deutsche Niederlassung des Beratungsunternehmens Barra International, wo er seit 1991 beschäftigt war. Herr Dr. Kleeberg ist Mitherausgeber der Handbücher „Portfoliomanagement“, „Asset Allocation“, „Spezialfonds“ und „Hedge Funds“ sowie Verfasser zahlreicher Aufsätze im Bereich Asset Management. Er promovierte 1994 an der Universität Münster bei Prof. Dr. Manfred Steiner. Für seine Arbeit „Der Anlageerfolg des Minimum-Varianz-Portfolios“ wurde er vom Deutschen Aktieninstitut mit dem 1. Hochschulpreis ausgezeichnet.

kleeberg@alphaport.de

FLORIAN HERTLEIN

Partner

Florian Hertlein war ab 2006 zunächst Consultant und seit 2008 Senior Consultant bei der alpha portfolio advisors GmbH und ist seit 1.1.2016 deren Geschäftsführer und Partner.

Zuvor studierte er Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Hochschule Ansbach mit den Schwerpunkten Finanz-, Bank- und Investitionswirtschaft und absolvierte eine Ausbildung zum Bankkaufmann im Rahmen eines Verbundstudiums bei der RaiffeisenVolksbank eG Gewerbebank Ansbach. Herr Hertlein ist außerdem Co-Autor einiger Fachaufsätze zu den Themen aktives Management und Managerauswahl, die in verschiedenen Fachbüchern und Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht wurden.

hertlein@alphaport.de

  • GESELLSCHAFT
  • ASSET ALLOCATION
  • MANAGER-SELECTION
  • MANAGER-DATENBANK

OBEN