COMPANY

alpha portfolio advisors is an owner-managed consulting firm, which was founded in 1998 and is located in Kronberg im Taunus. We are specialized in advising institutional investors in Germany, Switzerland and Austria. Systematic selection of active asset managers and dynamic asset allocation are our core competencies.

Our structured manager selection process is based on the most recent scientific insights as well as many years of practical experience of our team of consultants. Since the launch of alpha portfolio advisors we have successfully conducted more than 300 manager selection processes with a total asset volume of over 22 bn. EUR. alpha portfolio advisors is thereby a leading investment consultancy in the German-speaking market.

Since 2003 we advise leading institutional investors regarding dynamic asset allocation. The internally developed alphaport® strategy is scientifically sound and free from forecasts. It has proven itself multiple times during difficult market phases due to its integrated risk management approach. Currently we manage more than 1 bn. EUR within this strategy.

PARTNER

MISSION STATEMENT

Alpha - We bear alpha in our name and have the aspiration to generate sustainable excess returns.
Specialization – Through the consistent specialization on manager selection and asset allocation we offer our clients the best possible added value.

Specialization - By consistently specializing in manager selection and asset allocation, we offer our customers the highest possible value.

Quality - We place the highest demands on the quality of our work and strive to inspire our clients with excellent work results.

Performance Incentives - We measure ourselves on the success of our consultation and are remunerated on a performance basis. Therefore, we share the same incentives as our clients and rule out conflicts of interest.

Team - We select our employees very thoroughly and give them freedom and responsibility. This creates high job satisfaction and motivation.

CLIENTS

We advise a diverse range of clients including many leading corporates, insurance companies, pension funds, church investment funds, foundations, family offices and banks. An experienced and stable team of 14 highly specialized investment professionals develops customized value added solutions and implements them in our clients’ portfolios.

CONSULTING PHILOSOPHY

The fundamental objective of our consulting services is to generate sustainable added value (“alpha”) for our institutional clients. This additional alpha enables them to achieve or exceed their return targets even in times of low interest rates. The quality, experience and passion of our consulting team as well as our absolute independence provide the basis for success.

We see a strong partnership with our clients as the foundation for our business. Our consulting services are not standardized, rather fully tailored to a client’s individual needs. We guarantee our clients full transparency by providing thorough project documentation. The remuneration for our manager selection service is directly linked to the alpha generated for our client, thus emphasizing our conviction to add measurable value.

  • COMPANY
  • ASSET ALLOCATION
  • MANAGER SELECTION
  • MANAGER DATABASE

FLORIAN HERTLEIN

Partner

Florian is a managing director and partner at alpha portfolio advisors GmbH. He is specialized on manager selection. Florian joined the company in 2006.

Florian studied business administration at Anspach University of Applied Sciences with concentration in finance, banking and investment management. Concurrent to his studies, he worked at the RaiffeisenVolksbank eG Gewerbebank Ansbach and completed a vocational training in banking.

Florian is the author of several articles on the subject of absolute return and manager selection that have been published in various specialist handbooks and journals.

hertlein@alphaport.de

MICHAEL BILLMANN

Partner

Michael is a managing director and partner at alpha portfolio advisors GmbH. Michael’s primary focus is manager selection. He joined the company in 2005.

Michael studied business administration with a concentration in finance at the University of Münster. He is the author of several articles on the subject of absolute return and manager selection that have been published in various specialist handbooks and journals.

billmann@alphaport.de

DR. JOCHEN KLEEBERG

Partner

Jochen is a managing director of alpha portfolio advisors GmbH overseeing it’s asset allocation and manager selection services. Before founding alpha portfolio advisors in 1998, Jochen managed the German branch of the consulting firm Barra International where he began his career in 1991. In 1994 he earned a doctorate at the University of Münster under Prof. Dr. Manfred Steiner with a doctoral thesis entitled “The Investment Success of the Minimum Variance Portfolio.” His thesis was awarded first prize for academic excellence conferred by the Deutsches Aktieninstitut (German Equities Institute).

Jochen is the co-editor of the handbooks entitled “Hedge Funds”, “Asset Allocation,” “Portfolio Management” and “Spezialfonds” as well as the author of numerous articles on the subject of asset management.

kleeberg@alphaport.de

TOP

GESELLSCHAFT

alpha portfolio advisors ist ein 1998 gegründetes, inhabergeführtes Beratungsunternehmen mit Sitz in Kronberg im Taunus. Wir sind spezialisiert auf die Beratung institutioneller Anleger in Deutschland, der Schweiz und Österreich. Die systematische Auswahl aktiver Asset Manager und die Dynamisierung der Asset Allocation sind unsere Beratungsschwerpunkte.

Unser strukturierter Manager-Selection-Prozess basiert auf neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen und den langjährigen praktischen Erfahrungen unseres Beratungsteams. Seit der Gründung von alpha portfolio advisors haben wir mehr als 300 Managerauswahlverfahren mit einem Mandatsvolumen von insgesamt über 22 Mrd. EUR erfolgreich durchgeführt. alpha portfolio advisors zählt damit zu den führenden Investment Consulting Unternehmen im deutschsprachigen Raum.

Bereits seit dem Jahr 2003 beraten wir führende institutionelle Anleger bei der dynamischem Asset Allocation. Die von uns dazu eigens entwickelte alphaport® Strategie ist wissenschaftlich fundiert, prognosefrei und hat sich durch die inhärente Risikokontrolle mehrfach auch in schwierigen Marktphasen bewährt. Aktuell steuern wir mit dieser Strategie über 1 Mrd. EUR.

PARTNER

UNTERNEHMENSLEITBILD

Alpha - Wir tragen das „alpha“ im Namen und haben den Anspruch nachhaltige Zusatzrenditen zu erwirtschaften.

Spezialisierung - Durch die konsequente Spezialisierung auf Manager Selection und Asset Allocation bieten wir unseren Kunden den höchstmöglichen Mehrwert.

Qualität - Wir stellen höchste Ansprüche an die Qualität unserer Leistungen und wollen unsere Kunden mit exzellenten Arbeitsergebnissen begeistern.

Leistungsanreize - Wir lassen uns an unserem Beratungserfolg messen und werden danach vergütet. Damit besitzen wir die gleichen Leistungsanreize wie unsere Kunden und schließen Interessenskonflikte aus.

Team - Wir wählen unsere Mitarbeiter sehr sorgfältig aus und geben Ihnen Freiräume und
Verantwortung. Dies schafft eine hohe Arbeitszufriedenheit und Motivation.

KUNDEN

Der Kreis unserer Kunden ist breit gefächert und umfasst zahlreiche führende Unternehmen (Corporates), Versicherungen, Einrichtungen der Altersversorgung (Berufsständische Versorgungswerke, Pensionskassen), Kirchen, Stiftungen, Family Offices sowie Banken und Sparkassen. Mit einem stabilen Team aus 14 hochspezialisierten und praxiserfahrenen Expertinnen und Experten erarbeiten wir individuelle, mehrwertorientierte Beratungslösungen und implementieren diese in den Portfolios unserer Kunden.

BERATUNGS­PHILOSOPHIE

Wir verbinden mit unseren Beratungsleistungen den Anspruch einen nachhaltigen Mehrwert für die Kapitalanlage unserer Kunden zu generieren. Mit diesen Zusatzerträgen ist es ihnen möglich die gesetzten Renditeziele auch in Zeiten von Niedrigzinsen zu erreichen bzw. zu übertreffen. Die zentralen Voraussetzungen hierfür sind die Qualität, Erfahrung und Leidenschaft unseres Beratungsteams sowie die absolute Unabhängigkeit unseres Unternehmens.

Wir verstehen unsere Kunden als Partner. Daher zeichnen sich unsere Beratungsleistungen durch ihre ausgeprägte kundenspezifische Ausrichtung (individuelle Lösungen statt „Schubladenlösungen“) und Transparenz (z.B. durch eine sorgfältige Projektdokumentation) aus. Nicht zuletzt unterstreicht die unmittelbare Kopplung unserer Vergütung an den Beratungserfolg die Überzeugung durch unsere Leistung einen messbaren Mehrwert für den Kunden zu schaffen.

  • GESELLSCHAFT
  • ASSET ALLOCATION
  • MANAGER-SELECTION
  • MANAGER-DATENBANK

FLORIAN HERTLEIN

Partner

Florian Hertlein war ab 2006 zunächst Consultant und seit 2008 Senior Consultant bei der alpha portfolio advisors GmbH und ist seit 1.1.2016 deren Geschäftsführer und Partner.

Zuvor studierte er Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Hochschule Ansbach mit den Schwerpunkten Finanz-, Bank- und Investitionswirtschaft und absolvierte eine Ausbildung zum Bankkaufmann im Rahmen eines Verbundstudiums bei der RaiffeisenVolksbank eG Gewerbebank Ansbach. Herr Hertlein ist außerdem Co-Autor einiger Fachaufsätze zu den Themen aktives Management und Managerauswahl, die in verschiedenen Fachbüchern und Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht wurden.

hertlein@alphaport.de

MICHAEL BILLMANN

Partner

Michael Billmann war ab 2005 zunächst Consultant und seit 2008 Senior Consultant bei der alpha portfolio advisors GmbH und ist seit 1.1.2016 deren Geschäftsführer und Partner.

Zuvor studierte er Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Münster mit den Schwerpunkten Finanzierung und Unternehmensgründung. Herr Billmann ist Mitverfasser verschiedener Fachaufsätze zu den Themen Absolute Return und Managerauswahl, die in Fachbüchern und Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht wurden.

billmann@alphaport.de

DR. JOCHEN KLEEBERG

Partner

Dr. Jochen Kleeberg widmet sich seit mehr als 25 Jahren mit großer Leidenschaft den Kernfragen des aktiven Portfoliomanagements. Seit der Gründung der alpha portfolio advisors GmbH im Jahre 1998 ist er deren geschäftsführender Gesellschafter.

Bis Ende 1996 leitete er die deutsche Niederlassung des Beratungsunternehmens Barra International, wo er seit 1991 beschäftigt war. Herr Dr. Kleeberg ist Mitherausgeber der Handbücher „Portfoliomanagement“, „Asset Allocation“, „Spezialfonds“ und „Hedge Funds“ sowie Verfasser zahlreicher Aufsätze im Bereich Asset Management. Er promovierte 1994 an der Universität Münster bei Prof. Dr. Manfred Steiner. Für seine Arbeit „Der Anlageerfolg des Minimum-Varianz-Portfolios“ wurde er vom Deutschen Aktieninstitut mit dem 1. Hochschulpreis ausgezeichnet.

kleeberg@alphaport.de

OBEN